19th ACM MSWiM 2016

Chairs Message

Welcome to the 19th ACM International Conference on Modelling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM), held this year in astonishing Malta. Located in the central area of the Mediterranean between South of Sicily and North Africa, Malta is culturally very rich due to be in a strategic naval position, which has been successively ruled by several civilizations and empires along its long history. The warm climate and its pleasant beaches washed by the Mediterranean perfectly complement its 7000 years of history with architectural and historical monuments, including UNESCO World Heritage sites: Hypogeum of Ħal-Saflieni, Valleta, and the seven Megalithic Temples, consisting of some of the oldest free-standing structures in the world.

MSWiM has established itself over the years as a leading venue where some of the best research in the area of performance evaluation of wireless and mobile systems is presented, and this is no exception. Putting together a high-quality conference like MSWiM is an enormous undertaking that requires a great team effort. We thank Geyong Min and Antonio F. Loureiro for putting together the technical program, from the Call for Papers to the final program selection and its schedule. We also acknowledge the volunteer efforts of TPC members and external reviewers whose expertise and hard work culminated in selecting excellent papers. This year, MSWiM presents strong poster and demonstration sessions, managed by Robson E. De Grande, the Poster Sessions Chair, and Laura-Marie Feeney, the Demo Session Chair. Finally, the technical program includes two distinguished keynotes addresses by the following two outstanding experts, Prof. Jean-Pierre Hubaux from EPFL, Switzerland, and Prof. Kin K. Leung from Imperial College, UK.

Four symposia and two tutorials will be held this year along with the main conference program, covering several specializations within mobile and wireless systems. The four symposia are: MobiWAC, PE-WASUN, DIVANET and Q2SWinet. Over the years, these symposia have become successful and quite competitive in their own right.

We also wish to express our gratitude to those who have managed the many practical details of the event. These individuals include Mirela Notare and Salil Kanhere as the Publicity Co-Chairs; and Thomas Begin and Jalel Ben-Othman for organizing the tutorials in the Conference. We also express our appreciation to the MSWiM Steering Committee for their guidance and support, which helped us to bring together an exceptional conference program this year. Last but not least, we wish to thank our main sponsor, ACM SIGSIM.

We are very pleased to welcome you to MSWiM 2016 and fascinating Malta. We are certain that you will find this year’s event full of stimulating ideas and discussions.

Albert Zomaya Antonio Loureiro Geyong Min
University of Sydney, Australia UFMG, Brazil University of Exeter, UK
General Chair Technical Program Co-Chair Technical Program Co-Chair