17th ACM MSWiM 2014

Accepted papers

The technical program of the 17th ACM International Conference on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM), held in 2014 in Montreal, Canada continues to build upon the high standards set by previous editions of the conference.

In 2014, the call for papers attracted 146 registered papers in all areas of mobile and wireless systems of which 128 were accepted into the review process. The submitted papers came from 39 countries. Members of the Technical Program Committee are affiliated to universities and industry in 17 countries spread over five continents, reflecting the truly international profile of MSWiM. The five most commonly listed topics for submissions to MSWiM'14 were:

  • Wireless network algorithms and protocols
  • Performance evaluation and modeling
  • Wireless mesh networks, mobile ad hoc networks, VANET
  • Sensor and actuator networks
  • Analytical models

The submissions included a large number of papers of very high quality making the selection process difficult and competitive. In the end, we selected 32 regular papers, which corresponds to an acceptance rate of 25%. An additional 10 short papers were recommended for the program owing to their quality and contribution.

Among the 32 regular papers, the three shortlisted as candidates for the best paper award are:

  • “Impact of Node Mobility on Single-Hop Cluster Overlap in Vehicular Ad Hoc Networks,” Khadige Abboud and Weihua Zhuang
  • “Dirichlet's Principle on Multiclass Multihop Wireless Networks: Minimum Cost Routing Subject to Stability,” Reza Banirazi, Edmond Jonckheere, and Bhaskar Krishnamachari
  • “Wireless Networking Testbed and Emulator (WiNeTestEr),” Joseph D. Beshay, Yongjiu Du, Pengda Huang, Niranjan Mahabaleshwar, Brooks McMillin, Ehsan Nourbakhsh, Kiruba S. Subramani, Tianzuo Xi, Bhaskar Banerjee, Joseph D. Camp, Jinghong Chen, Ping Gui, Ravi Prakash, and Dinesh Rajan

The winner among these three papers will be announced at the conference banquet, and will be reported in the proceedings of MSWiM 2015. At this point, we take the opportunity to congratulate the winners of the best paper award for MSWiM 2013:

  • “Understanding the Benefits of Open Access in Femtocell Networks: Stochastic Geometric Analysis in the Uplink,” authored by Wei Bao and Ben Liang.

Our thanks go to Professor Azzedine Boukerche and the Advisory Board for their vision in guiding MSWiM from workshop to symposium and finally to conference status over the past 15 years. Our thanks also go to Professor Ian Akyidiz and Professor Dharma Agrawal for sharing their experience and vision into the future in the keynote speeches. A special thank you goes to the Technical Program Committee members as well as the additional reviewers for their hard work and contributions in reviewing any judging all the submitted papers.

Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the conference. We hope you find the technical sessions to be intellectually stimulating and rewarding.

Ravi Prakash Azzedine Boukerche Cheng Li Falko Dressler
University of Texas at Dallas, USA University of Ottawa, Canada Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada University of Paderborn, Germany
General Co-Chair General Co-Chair TPC Co-Chair TPC Co-Chair