Messages From the MSWIM Chairs


MSWIM 2013 General Chairs’ Welcome

Welcome to the 16th ACM International Conference on Modelling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM), and to unique Barcelona, Spain. Over the years, MSWiM has established itself as a major research venue where numerous key results in the area of performance evaluation of wireless and mobile systems have appeared; we are delighted that this year’s event maintains the tradition of high quality contributions.

It is a complex procedure to put together a high quality conference and MSWIM is therefore truly a team effort. We here take the opportunity to thank this year’s TPC chairs, Ravi Prakash and Cheng Li who have managed the entire technical program process, from the initial Call For Papers through the review process to the finalisation of the technical program. Of course, we also acknowledge and thank the TPC members and external reviewers whose expertise and hard work is the decisive factor for judging the quality of the contributions and facilitating the final paper selection. MSWIM also includes a poster session that has been managed by Mirela A.M. Norate and Jalel Ben-Othman. Furthermore, this year we are very happy to include a strong demonstration session, which was made possible by the hard work of Demo Chair, Laura-Marie Feeney. Finally, MSWiM 2013 also includes two distinguished keynotes addresses by outstanding experts, Professors Arturo Azcorra (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain) and Robert Schober (University of British Columbia, Canada).

Along with the main conference program, four symposia and three workshops will be held, covering several specializations within mobile and wireless systems. The four symposia are: MobiWAC, PE-WASUN, DIVANet and Q2SWinet and the three workshops: WMuNeP, PM2HW2N and HP-MOSys. Over the years, these seven events have become successful and quite competitive in their own right.

We also thank the people who have managed the practical details of the event, Pan Li for advertising the conference, Robson De Grande for managing the registration process and David Rebollo-Monedero for overseeing the local arrangements. Finally, we also thank the Steering committee for their guidance behind the scenes, Azzedine Boukerche, Sajal K. Das, Lorenzo Donatiello, Jason Yi-Bing Lin, William C.Y. Lee and Simon Taylor.

Last but not least, we wish to thank our main sponsor the ACM SIGSIM. We are very pleased to welcome you to MSWiM 2013 in Barcelona and we are confident you will find this year’s event full of stimulating ideas and discussions.

Bjorn Landfeldt Mónica Aguilar Igartua
Lund University, Sweden Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain

General Chair and General Vice-Chair


MSWIM 2013 Technical Program Chairs’ Welcome

The technical program of the 16th ACM International Conference on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM), held in 2013 in Barcelona, Spain continues to build upon the high standards set by previous editions of the conference.

In 2013, the call for papers attracted 184 registered papers in all areas of mobile and wireless systems of which 160 were accepted into the review process. The submitted papers came from 39 countries, and the accepted papers from 32 countries, reflecting the truly international profile of MSWiM. Members of the Technical Program Committee were drawn from 17 countries spread over five continents. The five most commonly listed topics for submissions to MSWiM'13 were:

  • Performance evaluation and modeling

  • Wireless network algorithms and protocols

  • Wireless mesh networks, mobile ad hoc networks, VANET

  • Sensor and actuator networks

  • Analytical models

    The submissions included a large number of papers of very high quality making the selection process difficult and competitive. In the end, we selected 42 regular papers, which is an acceptance rate of 26%. An additional 17 short papers were recommended for the program owing to their high quality and contribution.

    Among the 42 regular papers, the three shortlisted as candidates for the best paper award are:

  • “RECAST: Telling Apart Social and Random Relationships in Dynamic Networks,” Pedro O.S. Vaz de Melo,Aline Carneiro Viana,Marco Fiore,Katia Jaffrès-Runser, Frederic Le Mouel, Antonio A.F. Loureiro.

  • “Understanding the Benefits of Open Access in Femtocell Networks: Stochastic Geometric Analysis in the Uplink,” Wei Bao, Ben Liang.
  • A Novel Scheduling Algorithm for Densely-Deployed Wireless Stations in Urban Areas,” Hirozumi Yamaguchi, Akihito Hiromori, Teruo Higashino, Shigeki Umehara, Hirofumi Urayama, Masaya Yamada, Taka Maeno, Shigeru Kaneda, Mineo Takai.

The winner among these three papers will be announced at the conference banquet, and will be reported in the proceedings of MSWiM 2013. At this point, we take the opportunity to congratulate the winners of the best paper award for MSWiM 2012:

"Influence of Spatial Statistics of Spectrum Use on the Performance of Cognitive Wireless Networks”, J. Riihijärvi, J. Nasreddine, P. Mähönen.

Our thanks go to Professor Azzedine Boukerche and the Advisory Board for their vision in guiding MSWiM from workshop to symposium and finally to conference status over the past 15 years. A special thank you goes to the Technical Program Committee as well as the reviewers for their hard work and contributions in reviewing any judging all the submitted papers. Finally, we would like to take this opportunity to welcome you to the conference. We hope you find the technical sessions to be intellectually stimulating and rewarding.

Ravi Prakash Cheng Li
University of Texas at Dallas, USA Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada

Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs MSWiM 2013