Message From the Chairs


On behalf of the Organizing Committee, it is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 15th ACM International Conference on Modeling, Analysis and Simulation of Wireless and Mobile Systems (MSWiM), held in 2012 in Paphos, Cyprus Island. MSWiM has a long tradition of introducing important, high quality and timely work, and we are very pleased that this year's event maintains the high standard set in previous years.

In 2012, the call for papers attracted 161 registered papers in all areas of mobile and wireless systems of which 115 were accepted into the review process. The submitted papers came from 37 countries, and the accepted papers from 27 countries, reflecting the truly international profile of MSWiM. It is also informative to note that the five most commonly listed topics for submissions to MSWiM this year were:

The submissions included a large number of papers of very high quality making the selection process difficult and competitive. In the end, we selected 42 regular papers, which is an acceptance rate of 26 %, and an additional 10 short papers were recommended for the program for their high quality and contribution. The MSWiM 2012 technical program also comprises two distinguished keynotes addresses by Professors Kin K. Leung (Imperial College, UK) and Antonio A.F. Loureiro (UFMG, Brazil), a poster and demonstration session and tutorials. In addition, there are four one-day Symposia: MobiWAC, PE-WASUN, DIVANet and Q2SWinet as well as three workshops: WMuNeP, PM2HW2N and HP-MOSys co-located with the main conference.

Among the 42 regular papers, three have been selected as candidates for the best paper award at the conference and will be announced in the opening session. The papers selected are:

The winner among these three papers will be announced at the conference banquet, and will be reported in the proceedings of MSWiM 2013. At this point, we take the opportunity to congratulate the winners of the best paper award of MSWiM 2011:

"Maximal utility rate allocation for energy harvesting wireless sensor networks", Bo Zhang, Robert Simon and Hakan Aydin, George Mason University, USA.

Our thanks go to Professor Azzedine Boukerche and the Advisory Board for their vision in guiding MSWiM from workshop to symposium and finally to conference status over the past 14 years. A special thank you go to the Technical Program Committee as well as the external reviewers, for all the hard work in reviewing any judging the contributions of all the submitted papers.

We thank our organizing committee, as putting together a conference such as MSWiM is a team effort. Thanks to tutorial co-chairs Oliver Holland and Yi Qian, workshop chair Joel Rodrigues, demo/tools co-chairs Gennaro Boggia and Ivan Martinovic, and poster chair Stefano Basagni, for organizing the value-added sessions MSWiM attendees have come to expect. Our thanks go to Mirela A. M. Notare and Salil Kanhere for advertising the conference. Thanks are also due to Robson de Grande, our registration chair and Constandinos Mavromoustakis, our local arrangements chair. Last but not least we want to thank Richard W. Pazzi for helping out with the web site, putting together the final proceedings as publications chair and for helping out with numerous tasks during the process of organising MSWIM 2012.

Finally, we thank our sponsors, ACM and ACM SIGSIM, for their continued support of these successful meetings.
In closing, we warmly welcome you to MSWiM 2012. We are confident that both the conference and your stay in Paphos will be informative, interesting, and above all enjoyable!


Bjorn Landfeldt Ravi Prakash
Lund University, Sweden University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Technical Program Committee Co-Chairs MSWiM 2012

Albert Y. Zomaya Vasos Vasiliou
University of Sydney, Australia University of Cyprus, Cyprus

General Chair and General Vice-Chair MSWIM 2012